top of page

Select a language:


About the Committee

In October 2022, Governor Kathy Hochul, Senate Majority Leader Charles Schumer, Micron’s CEO Sanjay Mehrotra announced Micron Technology, Inc. selected Central New York to make a historic investment of up to $100 billion over 20-plus years to construct a leading-edge memory manufacturing megafab. This historic investment, and the largest private investment in New York state history, will create nearly 50,000 New York jobs and was made possible thanks to New York States Green CHIPS program that includes an agreement between Micron and New York State to create a $500 million Community Investment Fund.


As part of this transformational investment, the Community Engagement Committee (CEC) was formed by Governor Hochul to identify community priorities and create a framework for directing community investments in areas such as:


  • K-12 Education

  • Workforce development

  • Job placement

  • Minority, Women, Veteran owned business owned enterprise (MWBVE), and other priority small businesses

  • Community assets (community centers, after school centers, recreation, etc)

  • Housing

  • Healthcare

  • Childcare

  • Transportation and infrastructure


The Committee is made up of local stakeholders to ensure meaningful, ground-up participation and discussion of Micron’s implementation and investments in the region and also includes five ex-officio members. The formation of this group is a critical component of the Community Investment Framework agreement made between New York State and Micron in October 2022. 

What does this mean for me?


CEC wants to hear from you! This is a community-led effort to elevate ideas for making investments that will create meaningful and lasting changes for the Central New York region. This is your opportunity to have a voice in shaping the future of Central New York and directing millions of dollars in investment in your community.

Committee Members

The Committee is made up of local stakeholders who will support the company’s community investment strategy and also includes five ex-officio members.


CEC Members at the Kickoff Event, August 1 2023, not all members are shown. Photo by Ana Gil


  • Melanie Littlejohn – President and CEO, CNY Foundation, (Co-Chair)

  • Tim Penix – Vice President of the Syracuse Educational Opportunity Center, (Co-Chair)


  • April Arnzen – Senior Vice President and Chief People Officer, Micron

  • Karen Belcher – Executive Director, Food Bank of Central New York

  • Donna DeSiato – Superintendent, East Syracuse Minoa School District

  • Bishop Ronald Dewberry – Senior Pastor, New Life Temple of Praise

  • Kristi Eck – Assistant Vice President for Workforce Innovation and External Relations, SUNY Oswego

  • Scott Gatzemeier – Corporate Vice President of Front-End US Expansion, Micron 

  • Mark Hall – President and CEO, Syracuse Community Health, (Retired)

  • Jasenko Mondom – Employment Specialist, Refugee Assistance Program at Syracuse City School District

  • Meg O'Connell – Executive Director, Allyn Family Foundation

  • Hazel Powless – Haudenosaunne Environmental Task Force, Onondaga Nation

  • Kerry Quaglia – Founder and CEO, Home HeadQuarters

  • Sheena Solomon – Executive Director, The Gifford Foundation

  • Paco Valle – Minority Veteran Program Coordinator, Veterans Affairs Syracuse


Ex Officio Members

  • Joe Nehme - Senior Manager, External Affairs, Micron

  • Kevin Younis – COO and Executive Deputy Commissioner, Empire State Development

  • Isabelle Harris - Director of Strategic Initiatives, Onondaga County

  • Sharon Owens – Deputy Mayor, City of Syracuse

  • Damian Ulatowski – Supervisor, Town of Clay


Sign Up for Email Updates

Stay up-to-date on the progress of the committee and how you can be involved.

Learn More About Micron

Find out more about Micron's $100 billion, 1,400-acre green technology campus.

bottom of page